The Framework of CREATIVE WALLONIA

Wallonia put in place an offensive strategy in order to restructure, reinforce and modernize its economic system. The solution: creativity!

CREATIVE WALLONIA is a framework program that places creativity and innovation in the center of the Walloon project!

With the Contracts of the Future and the Marshall plans, over the last ten years Wallonia has mainly favored networking in order to consolidate the most promising sectors. This approach appears to be obtaining results: various studies or independent indicators testify to the excellent results registered by Wallonia, specifically in the foreign investment and the export domains.

Thanks to the dynamism of our companies, the quality of our academic and scientific resources, the knowhow of our employees and the various initiatives taken over the last years, results have been remarkable for everyone from Walloon.

Today, in order to maintain and emphasize this favorable trend, we must make this voluntary and systematic action related to this matter last.

This is why CREATIVE WALLONIA brings together a number of measures based on a common philosophy:

  • A vision on innovation that is not restricted to simple discovery or invention: innovating is modifying several elements with regards to the existing reference; this for the product level or service level itself as well as for its production, design, marketing, etc. It is no longer valid to consider an increase in R&D investments as being sufficient to make us innovators. Without a mental attitude aimed at systematic changes, all classic efforts will remain in vain.
  • An innovation policy founded on the entire society – on a creative society. If innovation is the capacity to transform reality, creativity is the capacity to transform its perception of reality. In the contemporary world, the companies cannot be separated from the entirety of their normative, social and cultural context.
  • This is clearly the reason why all of them must move on together. In this respect, Wallonia is not without aces: it consists in a rather compact territory, it has operational institutions, actual cultural diversity and numerous industrial spearheads in various sophisticated domains.
  • The will to proceed though leveraged effect in order to convince rather than to impose.

All of these measures will allow Wallonia to move forward in the same direction, trespassing onto an extra stage in the mutation of the Walloon industry in order to continuously improve how it complies with the challenges imposed by a global, digital world where the sole constant is continuous change!

Le plan CREATIVE WALLONIA

La Wallonie est entrée dans une stratégie offensive afin de restructurer, de renforcer et de moderniser son tissu économique. Sa solution: la créativité !

CREATIVE WALLONIA est un programme-cadre qui place la créativité et l’innovation au cœur du projet wallon !

Avec les Contrats d’Avenir et les plans Marshall, la Wallonie a principalement favorisé le travail en réseau afin de consolider les secteurs les plus prometteurs au cours de ces dix dernières années. Cette approche s’avère payante : plusieurs études ou indicateurs indépendants font état des excellents résultats enregistrés par la Wallonie, notamment dans le domaine des investissements étrangers et dans celui des exportations.

Grâce au dynamisme de nos entreprises, de la qualité de nos ressources académiques et scientifiques, du savoir-faire de nos travailleurs et de diverses initiatives prises au cours des dernières années, des résultats se font sentir pour toutes les wallonnes et les wallons.

Aujourd’hui, il faut faire perdurer cette action volontariste et systématique en la matière pour maintenir et accentuer cette tendance favorable.

C’est pourquoi CREATIVE WALLONIA rassemble un nombre de mesures reposant sur une philosophie commune :

  • Une vision de l’innovation qui ne se limite pas à la simple découverte ou à l’invention : innover, c’est modifier plusieurs éléments par rapport à la référence existante; et ce tant au niveau du produit ou du service lui-même que de sa production, de son design, de son marketing, etc. On ne peut plus simplement considérer qu’un accroissement des investissements en R&D suffira à nous rendre innovants. Sans attitude mentale orientée vers le changement systémique, tous les efforts classiques resteront vains.
  • Une politique d’innovation qui s’appuie sur la société entière – sur une société créative. Si l’innovation est la capacité à transformer le réel, la créativité est la capacité à transformer sa perception du réel. Dans le monde contemporain, on ne peut dissocier les entreprises de l’ensemble de leur contexte normatif, social et culturel.
  • C’est bien pour cela que tous doivent avancer ensemble. La Wallonie ne manque pas d’atouts à cet égard : elle constitue un territoire relativement compact, elle dispose d’institutions opérantes, d’une réelle diversité culturelle et de nombreux fers de lance industriels dans plusieurs domaines de pointe.
  • Une volonté de procéder par effet levier afin de convaincre plutôt que d’imposer.

Toutes ces mesures offriront à la Wallonie d’aller plus loin dans la même direction, de franchir une étape supplémentaire dans la mutation de l’industrie wallonne afin de répondre toujours mieux aux défis posés par un monde global et numérique dont la seule constante est le changement permanent !